Saturday, October 22, 2016

The Sons of Isaac

  One thing that stands out about Roberta's books is her timeframe. This is the second of her books I have had the privelege to read, and in both of them, she spans over 100 years. In this book, she starts three years after Sarah's death and ends with Isaac's death.

   I have found that while she embelleshes some aspects, Roberta is fairly consistant with the Bible account in her books. 
  • Eleazer is sent back to Abraham's homeland to find a bride for Isaac, and Rebekah fills his jugs and waters his camels and comes with him cheerfully.
  • Jacob is born grabbing Esau's heel and Rebekah is told he will rule.
  • Esau sells his birthright for a bowl of stew. 
  • Jacob and Rebekah sceme to recieve the blessing and Jacob has to flee.
  • Jacob works seven years for Rachel, gets tricked by Laban into marrying Leah, and works seven more years.
  • Each of his twelve sons are born to same wife/handmaid as in the Bible.
  • Jacob never sees his mother as punishment for his deception.
  • He wrestles with the angel and has his name changed.
  • Jacob recieves all the odd animals of Laban's flocks and grows quite rich.
  • And many, many more.
  I like reading Bible fiction if it is acurate, and this book is one of them. 
                  I recieved this book from MOODY PUBLISHERS in exhange for my honest review.

No comments:

Post a Comment